COUNCIL

Friday, 15 September 2017

Present:		The Civic Mayor (Councillor Ann McLachlan) in the Chair Deputy Civic Mayor (Councillor Geoffrey Watt)		
	Councillors	RL Abbey B Berry C Blakeley E Boult A Brighouse P Brightmore D Burgess-Joyce P Cleary W Clements A Davies G Davies P Davies P Davies WJ Davies P Doughty D Elderton G Ellis S Foulkes P Gilchrist JE Green	P Hackett P Hayes A Hodson K Hodson AER Jones C Jones T Jones S Kelly A Leech I Lewis M McLaughlin C Meaden D Mitchell B Mooney C Muspratt T Norbury M Patrick T Pilgrim C Povall	L Reecejones L Rennie L Rowlands T Smith W Smith C Spriggs J Stapleton P Stuart M Sullivan A Sykes T Usher J Walsh W Ward S Whittingham J Williamson I Williams S Williams S Williams
<u>Apologies</u>	Councillors	T Anderson C Carubia J Hale T Johnson	B Kenny J McManus D Realey	

46 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

Prior to the meeting formally commencing and at the invitation of the Civic Mayor, the Bishop of Birkenhead, the Right Reverend Keith Sinclair, led the Council in prayer.

The Members of the Council were invited to consider whether they had any disclosable pecuniary and/or any other relevant interest in connection with any matters to be determined at this meeting and, if so, to declare it and state the nature of the interest.

No such declarations were made.

47 CIVIC MAYOR'S ANNOUNCEMENTS

The Civic Mayor noted that apologies had been received from Councillors Tom Anderson, Chris Carubia, John Hale, Treena Johnson, Brian Kenny, Julie McManus and Denise Realey.

48 **FREEDOM OF THE BOROUGH**

The Civic Mayor welcomed Members and invited guests to the meeting and paid tribute to the 96 men, women and children who had lost their lives at Hillsborough.

The Leader of the Council, Councillor Phil Davies, then addressed the Council and moved the following motion:

"That in pursuance of the provisions of Section 249 (5) of the Local Government Act 1972 and in recognition of the tragic loss of life and continued fight for justice on their behalf, the 96 named below, be posthumously admitted as Honorary Freemen / Freewomen of this Borough."

Councillors Paul Hayes and Dave Mitchell jointly seconded the motion and then each spoke in support of it.

Councillor Ron Abbey addressed the Council, speaking in support of the motion, and received a standing ovation in response.

Councillor Pat Cleary then addressed the Council, speaking in support of the motion and it was then –

Resolved (unanimously) -

That in pursuance of the provisions of Section 249 (5) of the Local Government Act 1972 and in recognition of the tragic loss of life and continued fight for justice on their behalf, the 96 named below, be posthumously admitted as Honorary Freemen / Freewomen of this Borough:

- John Alfred Anderson (62)
- Colin Mark Ashcroft (19)
- James Gary Aspinall (18)
- Kester Roger Marcus Ball (16)
- Gerard Baron Snr (67)
- Simon Bell (17)
- Barry Sidney Bennett (26)
- David John Benson (22)
- David William Birtle (22)
- Tony Bland (22)

- Paul David Brady (21)
- Andrew Mark Brookes (26)
- Carl Brown (18)
- David Steven Brown (25)
- Henry Thomas Burke (47)
- Peter Andrew Burkett (24)
- Paul William Carlile (19)
- Raymond Thomas Chapman (50)
- Gary Christopher Church (19)
- Joseph Clark (29)
- Paul Clark (18)
- Gary Collins (22)
- Stephen Paul Copoc (20)
- Tracey Elizabeth Cox (23)
- James Philip Delaney (19)
- Christopher Barry Devonside (18)
- Christopher Edwards (29)
- Vincent Michael Fitzsimmons (34)
- Thomas Steven Fox (21)
- Jon-Paul Gilhooley (10)
- Barry Glover (27)
- Ian Thomas Glover (20)
- Derrick George Godwin (24)
- Roy Harry Hamilton (34)
- Philip Hammond (14)
- Eric Hankin (33)
- Gary Harrison (27)
- Stephen Francis Harrison (31)
- Peter Andrew Harrison (15)
- David Hawley (39)
- James Robert Hennessy (29)
- Paul Anthony Hewitson (26)
- Carl Darren Hewitt (17)
- Nicholas Michael Hewitt (16)
- Sarah Louise Hicks (19)
- Victoria Jane Hicks (15)
- Gordon Rodney Horn (20)
- Arthur Horrocks (41)
- Thomas Howard (39)
- Thomas Anthony Howard (14)
- Eric George Hughes (42)
- Alan Johnston (29)
- Christine Anne Jones (27)
- Gary Philip Jones (18)
- Richard Jones (25)
- Nicholas Peter Joynes (27)
- Anthony Peter Kelly (29)

- Michael David Kelly (38)
- Carl David Lewis (18)
- David William Mather (19)
- Brian Christopher Matthews (38)
- Francis Joseph McAllister (27)
- John McBrien (18)
- Marian Hazel McCabe (21)
- Joseph Daniel McCarthy (21)
- Peter McDonnell (21)
- Alan McGlone (28)
- Keith McGrath (17)
- Paul Brian Murray (14)
- Lee Nicol (14)
- Stephen Francis O'Neill (17)
- Jonathon Owens (18)
- William Roy Pemberton (23)
- Carl William Rimmer (21)
- David George Rimmer (38)
- Graham John Roberts (24)
- Steven Joseph Robinson (17)
- Henry Charles Rogers (17)
- Colin Andrew Hugh William Sefton (23)
- Inger Shah (38)
- Paula Ann Smith (26)
- Adam Edward Spearritt (14)
- Philip John Steele (15)
- David Leonard Thomas (23)
- Patrick John Thompson (35)
- Peter Reuben Thompson (30)
- Stuart Paul William Thompson (17)
- Peter Francis Tootle (21)
- Christopher James Traynor (26)
- Martin Kevin Traynor (16)
- Kevin Tyrrell (15)
- Colin Wafer (19)
- Ian David Whelan (19)
- Martin Kenneth Wild (29)
- Kevin Daniel Williams (15)
- Graham John Wright (17)

The Civic Mayor then presented the Freedom Scroll to Mr Steve Kelly who accepted it on behalf of the 96. She informed the Council that it would be put on permanent display in the foyer of the Town Hall with each family receiving their loved one's Freedom Scroll later in the evening.

At the invitation of the Civic Mayor, Mr Steve Kelly then addressed the Council and paid tribute to the 96. In response Mr Kelly received a standing ovation.

The Civic Mayor thanked everyone for their attendance and, before everyone made their way outside for the dedication of the Riverside Gardens as a permanent memorial to the 96, declared the meeting closed at 5.50pm.